3.10.09

Conversations with a Two Year Old

Leila, looking at a picture of my grandmother: Who's nanny is this?
Me: That's my nanny.
Leila: Who's mommy is this?
Me: That's your Nan's mommy.
Leila: I'm shy of her.
Me: You don't have to be shy honey, you'll never meet her.
Leila: Why?
Me: Because she died a long time ago and is in Heaven.
Leila: Is Nan upset?
Me: Well, she ws upset, and I think she still misses her, but no, she's not upset anymore.
Leila: Why?
Me: Well, that's what happens when someone dies, we miss them.
Leila: Can I write her an email?
Me: No, baby, there's no email in Heaven.

A few days later:
Leila: Let's talk about Easter.
Me: Ok, what do you want to know?
Leila: Tell me about when people were scared.
Me: Ok, well a long time ago, before you or me or Daddy or Alena were born, people were very afraid because they didn't know what happened to them when they died. But because Jesus was a very special man, he told everbody not to be afraid, and that when we die, we can go with him in Heaven. He made a special place there for all of us.
Leila: Well, what's Jesus' name?
Me: His name is Jesus.
Leila: No, his last name.
Mr: Uhhh... Christ.
Leila: Christ! We eat Christ!
Me: I think you're thinking of "crust."
Leila: Yeah. Crust.
Me: Christ, crust, they're two different things.

wunderwuman at 1:38 p.m.

previous | next