3.3.09

Bored and Housebound

Struggling to keep Leila stimulated. Once the move to Halifax happens, I'll find some new playgroups. Alena is at the point where getting both out of the house doesn't seem as completely daunting as it used to, but still needs her morning nap.

Leila is bored and therefor cranky, flopping herself on the couch, wanting me to "play with me, come play with me." Which I do. A lot. But there are other things that need to be done, and as she's always been, isn't great at playing by herself. She's always needed a lot of stimulation, and now, I just don't feel equipped to give that to her anymore. Not to mention, when I try singing songs or ABCs or numbers, she gets mad and tells me not to sing anymore (ouch?).

We've been housebound for two days, so that might be part of this desperate feeling, but I don't know. Daycare will start again in September, once I'm back in school, and I'm hoping to find good neighbourhood parks and play groups by April, but what to do until then? Maybe it's something as simple as updating the games we play to things that are more challenging to her? She is almost three, I guess, and smart for her age too (I swear), so maybe it's time for puzzles or simple crafts? Any suggestions?

wunderwuman at 1:55 p.m.

previous | next