5.1.09

No overtime pay

Alena is, quite frankly, a bad teether. She's been "teething" for days (to no avail!), complete with bad temper, horrible bum rash, runny poop ever diaper change and mild fever. Sometimes I'm like, It's ok, we'll get through this baby girl, and then I remember she only has TWO and there's 18 more to come in and I'm like OH NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

That's the thing with parenting, there's no getting through it until Saturday, there's no waiting for your 15 minute break, because it doesn't come. Every morning it's all on me, and every night I'm exhausted and that's why this is the hardest job in the world, because there's no weekends or vacation pay.

But then we go outside and Alena is mesmorized by the feel of rain drops on her fingers and I think to myself, Ah, weekends are overrated anyway.

wunderwuman at 2:48 p.m.

previous | next