1.6.09

Hypothermic Half Dissapoints

Quick late evening update to say that I tried to register for the Hypothermic Half today in Moncton and it's full! I desperately checked the Halifax run, but it's full too! I'm sooooo disappointed, I've been training for this for months... I signed up for the half in Saint John, but it's the last weekend in February, which makes the race seven weeks away, instead of just a month away. I was really getting mentally prepared for this race. PLUS, Steve is away that weekend in Alberta snowboarding with my younger brother. He's been such a big support and part of my training, that knowing I won't see his cheering face as I cross the finish line almost made me not want to do it.

Conveniently, my parents were going to come up that weekend anyway, and Saint John is only an hour away (the run is at 7:30AM... seriously), so I think I'll head out myself in the VERY early morn, and they can take the girls in time to meet me at the finish line. The advantage is two-fold: I don't want to cross the line with no one cheering for me, but also, one of them can drive me home if I'm not feeling like it.

Anyway, it will work out and I'll get to do the run, but I'm really discouraged to have to wait three extra weeks before race day and REALLY REALLY discouraged that Steve won't be there.

Otherwise, I'm finished week five of WW maintenance. ONE MORE WEEK and I'll have a lifetime membership and will have reached my goal. Next Tuesday night supper has been planned for weeks: A Double cheeseburger with fries and gravy on the side!!

wunderwuman at 9:22 p.m.

previous | next