12.15.08

Long, quiet morning run

I got my long run in this morning. I left the house at 6:50am. It was quiet, the streets were stil dark, lined with the thinnest strips of ice here and there.

The guitar rifts for "Never Going Back Again" by Fleetwood Mac strummed in my ears, and I thought that I could run these roads blindfolded, I know them so well.

I saw strips of lights sneaking out of window past the closed blinds, my feet crunched over the salted sidewalks. I turned down the roads until I got the the trial, where I let Milo off the leash. I kept running for about 5 kms, then clipped her back on and turned back onto the road.

The town had come alive by then. There were cars puffing out exhaust in line for coffee, there were line ups at the red lights, and sleepy-eyed people who looked at me blearly through their windshields. Milo sniffed and snuffed every corner of this route we have never done.

I ran and ran, past the hospital, up the long hill and then down again. Over the bridge where a carful of girls and I tried to get out of speeding tickets when we were seventeen, and then back past my dad's office building. I looped back up through the main street, past the kids and teenagers waiting for the school bus, back across the funny intersection at the bottom of the hill, crunched through more salt and then one more hill.

It was the first hour and a half of quiet I've had all weekend. It was relaxing and wonderful.

Both girls are comming down with a cold, or a teething-related-runny-nose-and-slightly-fevered-because-they've-been-overstimulated-for-three-days-and-grandparents-often-interfere-with-our-methods-of-discipline-so-they-are-running-slightly-wild kind of bug. . And all my bragging about being able to handle the temptation of treats and not give in proved to be a big pile of crap and I've overeaten and over-indulged since we got here and ended up with a really upste stomach last night. Also, I am now having a sober second thought about what this may have done to my maintenance, and so will go for a light 3km run tomorrow morning.

But that's all really. The girls are both napping, and we are having a late afternoon visit and dinner at Steve's grandparent's house, saw his other side this morning, had dinner with my extended family yesterday, drank a little too much Saturday night and tomorrow afternoon my friend is coming over. While all this good eatin' and visitin' is fun, I'll be happy to be home and get our tree up.

Must run and get some emailing done before the girls wake.

wunderwuman at 1:56 p.m.

previous | next