8.26.08

Still Sick and Snuffy

I spent the night pacing the floor with a screaming baby. We took her to the doctor's at nine this morning (because she was fevered and is too young for Infant Tylenol) where we were told that she was too busy to take five minutes to check a fevered infant. (Steve's head just about exploded in anger).

Poor Alena was still just wimpering in her chair, nose running and wanting to nurse every twenty minutes or so. I took her to the hospital while Steve took Leila home. Three hours later, we were ok'd to give her a dose of Tylenol every four hours and she's been checked over.

She's been sleeping since 12:30 in her swing, and I slept for three hours, too.

I'm reassured that she's ok, but my worry-meter has been running on Very High since yesterday.

Worst of it is, the in-laws asked if they could camp in our yard this weekend, which made us awkwardly invite them to stay in the house, since we have the room and would have been uncomfortable with them sleeping on the grass, and right now, the absolute last thing I want is to spend my evenings with four other people while my baby fusses and snorts into my shoulder.

Anyway, I think that the tylenol will help her sleep over the next couple of days and at least she's nursing well. I'm tired, but, very, very thankful that Steve was home today and I didn't have to have Leila with me at the hospital and managed a big nap.

wunderwuman at 3:54 p.m.

previous | next