8.22.08

Swimming and Anxiety

So as deflated as I was about Alena's sleep the other day, turns out a swaddle changes everything. She's done better the past couple of nights, which makes everything better during the day. I run the risk of ruining it all by daring to say it out loud, but the past couple of days she's had a 9:00 nap, which is the same time as Leila's "quiet time" when she goes to her room and reads books by herself for 30 or 45 minutes, and then another around one, which is Leila's nap time, and then a third late afternoon cat-nap. It's been, in a word, perfect. Although the one thing I learned from the pat two years is that as soon as you begin to expect a baby to act a certain way, they pull one over on you and do the exact opposite. So we'll see how long this lasts. :)

In other news, I'm trying to get Leila into swimming lessons next month. She's, well, she's afraid of everything new. And I mean everything. We never did get more than her feet into the ocean, although she would go into my parent's pool. So I'd like to get her into the water on a regular basis. It's interesting to see, and I guess part of her personality, but she's so cautious. She's hesitant to try new things and is very, very shy right now (and seems to be having some separation anxiety, which I thought was more of a "first year" thing, although I wonder if it has something to do with still adjusting to Alena's arrival). So I called the Base gym, but they offer toddler swim lessons at night. Anyone else see what's wrong with this picture? Even if they're just at six or something, evening is the Bewitching Hour as we call it (and I'm pretty sure that's the case for all kids) and the absolute last thing that a tired, nervous, shy kid is going to want to do is go to a big noisy pool for a swim. The YMCA is farther away, but we're going to look into lessons there, and maybe we can even get the girls in at the same time.

I'm back on the WW and running train, and have clocked 19.5kms this week, which makes me feel pretty good. But now the girls are sleeping so I'm going to veg out and watch some day time trash t.v.

wunderwuman at 12:49 p.m.

previous | next