6.6.08

Long and Stressful Week

What a week.

To say nothing of the fact that my free time has been completely taken over by Alena, which is why I haven't been updating. Tuesday morning we realized our cars had been broken into, and stupid me had left my purse in the car (hey, that's what happens when both people have armfuls of babies and groceries, but grah, so dumb!!). We spent the day canceling credit cards, changing the locks on the house, getting the car locks re-programmed, getting a new license, blah blah blah.

More of the same Wednesday, yesterday was Alena's first check with the doctor during which I showed her a little dimple at the base of Alena's spine I had noticed a few days earlier. She told me it was nothing to worry about, but that was the last place the spinal cord fuses shut and sometimes it doesn't which causes Spina Bifida, but since there was no hole, she was ok. And while it wasn't like she said Woah! Close Call Kaitlyn!! Good thing you didn't skip those two more days of taking folic acid when it was making you barf, because otherwise, well, let's just say it wouldn't have been good, it *felt* like she had said that and it *felt* like we had a close call and I was upset and very shaken about the whole thing and how easily bad things can happen and can blindside you and maybe I should have gagged down those extra folic adic tablets that first month before I even knew I was pregnant, and blah, it was just this whole scenario running through my head that took the whole day to rid myself of.

Then low and behold this morning, one of our cars is gone. Turns out the re-programming of the keys didn't work on both vehicles, so now I'm mad all over again at myself. We called the RCMP, who, get this, told us to call back during business hours so then we called OnStar who claim they couldn't track the car unless you press the OnStar button in the car, but they contacted the RCMP for us who came over, filled out a report and told us to sit on our hands for a week to see if it showed up. If not, we'll have to call the insurance company. Logically, I understand that there's nothing we can do except wait, but I feel so violated. Because they came back, you know? And what if we hadn't changed the locks on the house? What if Steve had heard them and gone outside and they had had a knife or gun? The police pretty much know who's been stealing cars around this town, but can't catch him.

Anyway, so grumble grumble that we lost two car seats and a bunch of CDs and Steve's favourite sweatshirt but more deeply, is this now present sense of not being truly safe in my own house. Not unsafe, persay, but just, I don't more, much more vulnerable than before. Because they came back, that's what scary.

That said, I wonder if they dropped my stamped Thank You notes in the mailbox for me on their joyride...?

wunderwuman at 9:50 a.m.

previous | next