5.19.08

Hard to believe it's been a year

The due date came and went without any activity. Actually, a very, very quiet baby had me a little concerned. I only felt a few flutterings throughout the day, but at bedtime, she got going a bit. I'm never quite sure how little activity is too little, and on those days really miss my midwives. I'm not worried enough to go to the hospital, but it's easy to be scared of things going wrong.

Anyway, today is our first anniversary, and even though we have no babysitter and it's pouring rain, we have the top layer of our wedding cake for tonight along with a bottle of champagne (and, yes, I will have a glass), and some delicious looking steak. We are planning a romantic dinner after Leila goes to bed. Nine months pregnant and a dinner at home is definitely not the way I expected our first anniversary to be spent, but other than perhaps going into labour, it's pretty much the best way I could imagine.

I'm trying to maintain perspective on things. Steve is always positive that things will happen sometime this week, on their own because "nobody goes that long overdue when it's not their first" (right, Michelle? lol) and I am trying to have patience and count the blessings in my life today. Like my wonderful husband and my beautiful child. And for me to be impatient and upset that I am still carrying a healthy child, well, let's just say things could be infinitely worse.

Of course I hope things get going, and I've been cramping with mild contractions all morning (although that's not really anything new, maybe just has me a little more hopeful than usual today), but today is about enjoying our last lazy, rainy day with just the three of us. Steve is back to work tomorrow, so we are going to splash in puddles and watch Nemo, or Meno, as Leila calls him, and colour and play.

wunderwuman at 9:51 a.m.

previous | next