5.20.08

Full Moon? Here's Hoping!

So MIL called yesterday around noon and offered to take Leila for a night or two to let us spend our anniversary alone. We both kind of looked at each other and thought why not? So we met her at 3.30 half way between our houses and dropped (a wildly excited) Leila off along with her crapload of stuff (which is admittedly getting smaller, but I suppose only in time for the new arrival and the huge pile of things babies seem to require). We came home, had our dinner and went to the movies to see Forgetting Sarah Marshall. I was lukewarm about it at first, but it actually got really funny (in that low-brow-suprising-full-frontal-male-nudity-quasi-intellegence-insulting-humour) and came home for a glass of champagne. And those four hours were the first four hours in the past couple of weeks that I have totally forgotten about being pregnant. It was more than relaxing.

While the offer was for one night, I suggested two (which MIL was more than pleased about) so we're going to see Narnia tonight. (Last night was my choice, tonight is Steve's.) And Wednesday night I have dinner plans with a friend. So, hopefully in keeping busy, I'll (at the very least) stay distracted until baby comes. I think it goes without saying that I hope we don't get to see Narnia and that I don't get to go out for dinner.

After Michelle's post, I have been googling about full moons causing labour and am definately keeping my fingers crossed. Baby has been boarderline-frighteningly quiet for the past three days, although my mom said that unless it goes on for more than 12 hours at this point, there's no real cause for concern (and babe always moves when poked and prodded), which she swears is baby "sleeping before starting labour." Well, she also told me that after losing my mucus plug (five days ago) it would be 24 hours, but hey, my kids are quite stubborn and like inside my belly.

I am going to renew my Gold Membership today so within the next few days, I plan on posting some picturs of my beautiful girl in her last few days of being an only child. And I'll end on the note that it still seems very unreal at times that soon (within a week? OR ELSE I MIGHT EXPLODE) I'll have another child, a new baby... and it's just so... overwhelming and amazing and such a gift and I've been praying for her, to please just be healthy, please, please, please. Also, still having this niggling feeling of baby being a boy. So is my mom. And as I noted to Steve, the quilt that MIL made for baby is all yellows and whites, no pinks. And really, well, wouldn't it be hilarious? Maybe a little part of me wishes for that, although we have narry a boy name thought of, and an awful lot of pink and lavender cloth diapers. And, one last thing (really). Steve has always been adamant about only wanting two children, while I've never quite been able to agree to stop at two. I casually mentioned to him that a little boy two or three years down the road might be such a wonderful way to round out this little family of ours, and while ultimately he gave me his much practiced speak of not wanting to "chase" the boy less we end up with a set of twin girls or something (not that you'd see me complain, just, perhaps, lose my sanity), he definately paused for a contemplative moment.

wunderwuman at 8:47 a.m.

previous | next