03.08.08

BH, Pelvic Pressure, and gerenal complainey-ness

I mentioned a few entries ago about my Braxton Hicks, didn't I? Anyway, they've been so intense, it's a little worrying to me.

I stopped in at the doctor the other day to make sure everything was ok (I didn't feel confortable waiting until my next appt, which is on Thursday, but anyway) and she reassured me that everything was fine, that BH are more frequent and more noticable in second and subsiquent pregnancies, and the signs to look for when I need to head to the hospital.

They are still coming, a few a day, but I definately have to breathe and rock my pelvis through them. (TMI alert) They usually send me running for the toilet after they're finished, which I remember about early labour.

I tried checking my cervix and it seems soft to me, but was hesitant to mention this to the doctor because they never react well to self-diagonsis and ultimately, I don't really know what the hell it's supposed to feel like right now, so amybe by 30 weeks, it's getting soft anyway.

In other complainy news, I am frigging exhausted. Picking Leila up immediately causes BH, so we've been holding hands a lot and she's been doing a lot of walking back and forth to the car, and I'm trying to get her used to climbing in and out of her booster seat at the table. The crib is killing me and I am so ready to move her into a bed just so I don't have to lift her in and out anymore. Also, she is now officially too heavy for the changetable, which makes changing diapers way more exhausting since she wriggles and squirms and laughs and kicks and tries to excape way more on the floor than she ever did on her table.

We went to the movies last night and saw Vantage Point. I'm a sucker for Dennis Quaid (I know, I know) and movies about foiled presedential assassinations, so I quite liked it. I also shovelled popcorn in my face the whole time, which was delicious.

Leila is napping and I should be too, but I'm trying to get the crap cleared out of the baby's room so I can move the changetable into it. As you can tell, I'm not doing that and realistically, probably won't after this entry, but instead go get something to eat and fall asleep.

These contractions and this exhaustion makes me feel like the next two months may very well be the longest of my life. And the intensity of these BH makes me worry about preterm labour, although I'm sure when May 18 comes and then goes and I'm still pregnant, I'll be angry at myself for ever uttering those words. But oh, I just feel so big and heavy and loaded with pelvic pressure and I can't remember what's normal and I'm not sure how different things should feel this time around and I'm trying not to obsessively google (too much).

Blah. Food and sleep time.

wunderwuman at 10:05 a.m.

previous | next