03.05.08

Does sunshine follow ice storms, too?

After a much-too-lomg day, getting Steve to drive me home because of an ice storm and an extremely sticky toddler emerging from her daycare still coated in remnants of her rice crispy square, the evening emerged as the definate highlight of the day. For a house with a toddler, that is extremely unusual.

Leila ate her supper well (well equates to not too many battle of wills to get something into her mouth) and then when got completely hyper and squealed around the house chasing and laughing and running, patting Milo, playing with Steve. It all seemed quite exhausting to me, since I can no longer move quickly or easily, so I watched from a distance, taking it all in.

She gets so wild around six o'clock. She runs and yells and laughs and the more hyper she gets, the worse her sense of direction gets. She ran into the wall (I'm not exagerating) and almost ran into her crib three times. And all she does is plop onto the floor and squeal with laughter.

After Steve settled her into bed, we laid reading for a while and then took a bath together (something I had been thinking about all day) and made love.

Tomorrow I have plans to bake and clean, do some laundry and go to the gym in the morning. The thing with working three days is that I'm so ready to not go back to work, I thoroughly enjoy puttering around the house on Thursday, usually find something for Leila and I to do on Friday and then get to spend the weekend with Steve, and come Monday, I'm completely ready to get out of the house again. I've pretty much decided (leaving room for a change of heart, of course) that I think I'll stay part time until both kids are in school.

And on that note, the couch is calling my sleepy, sleepy name.

wunderwuman at 8:25 p.m.

previous | next