10.03.07/2

Second post today

Well, the appointment went well, I guess. My cervix is good and closed, I am on the rush list for an ultrasound, which they anticipate will take place within the next two weeks, my blood work reqs have been sent in. But, oh, I miss my midwives.

Everything was so rushed and she assumed I would be doing testing for Gestational Diabetes at 28 weeks and some sort of maternal screening, as opposed to last time when I was given reading about all the tests and then a choice. Oh, I still have a choice, I know, but I wonder if every test, every decision that challenges what my doctor assumes will be a battle.

At least she asked who I would like for an OB, I requested a younger woman. The only OB I know of in Fredericton my mothers friends father. And while they all told me how good of a doctor he was, I was left with visions of unnecessary episiotomies and forceps use. At least a younger doctor may be more open to different pushing positions and natural tearing.

Anyway, I was a little low after my appointment, but after some lunch and a nap on the couch, I am feeling a little more optimistic. Leila is having her nap while the washer and dryer both spin away and I try to figure what to do with stewing beef for supper besides stew.

Oh yeah, and the doctor advised me against running for more than 7k at a time. Slightly disappointed about that, but she felt it was too much exertion for too long. No race for me in Charlottetown, and I am wondering if Steve will still want to do it, wondering how tempting it will be to stay home even though we had big plans on telling my folks about the new baby. We will see, I suppose.

wunderwuman at 1:37 p.m.

previous | next