9.25.07

Update on baby

Update to last night. We took Leila to the hospital yesterday afternoon and after four hours of waiting, they told us she was fine, to give her Tylenol, lots of fluids and that it is never a waste of time to check a sick baby and to come back if she was still the same or worse today. They took an x-ray of her chest because she has been stuffy for almost two weeks to make sure that nothing was settling in, and though her chest was clear, we saw a giant gas bubble in her belly from crying. Which explains why her belly was so hard to touch and she kept having such big burps in the waiting room.

She was completely lethargic the whole wait, lying or sleeping quietly in our arms with such shallow breathing. If I hated going to the hospital before, I realized last night that it is a much scarier place when you are there as a mother.

Anyway, despite killing our evening to be sent home with a bit of Tylenol, Steve and I both slept better (although I was still restless and awake with every noise she made) knowing there was not something seriously wrong. I am still taking her to the doctor with me today, and keeping her home from day care for probably the rest of the week. They said a ton of kids and staff were sick and it makes me groan to think about the bugs we are in store for this fall. I am now beginning to truly appreciate the power of breastmilk and how Leila stayed so healthy last winter, not so much as a snuffle.

Anyway, she is (still!) sleeping away in her bed and our appointment is not until 11:20 this morning, so hopefully I can get some food into her today and she wakes up feeling better.

wunderwuman at 8:05 a.m.

previous | next