9.24.07

Sick Baby

Leila was sent home from daycare this morning at ten because of a fever of 38. She fell asleep in the car, and has been sleeping almost non-stop since, waking a few times for drinks of juice, milk and once a couple bites of apple sauce. It was up to 39.5 last time I checked it (about two hours ago) and then she fell asleep in my arms on the couch. I laid her in bed a few minutes ago after she had some milk and she is asleep again already.

I am worried about the fever, and she is so lethargic, I have never seen her like this. I called the doctor but they are closed until tomorrow (of course) and I have an appointment anyway, so I was going to bring her to get looked at. I am this close to taking her to the hospital, if it was not for the damn wait.

The good aspect is that I also slept for an hour this afternoon, reclined on the couch with my furnace curled on my lap and head nuzzled into my shoulder. I have been absolutely exhausted and at times overwhelmed this past week, but it is all the topic for another entry sometime soon.

I bought baby food at the drug store this afternoon, because Leila cried if I was more than two feet from her (in the whole 90 minutes that she was awake) and I thought she would be more receptive to eating soft food. She was pulling at her shirt, so I took if off and wrapped her in her favourite blanket, but then I worried she would get a chill if she started to sweat so I put a soft cotton long sleeved onesie on her that she is sleeping in now. She has not broken into a sweat, which makes me think the fever is not yet going to break. I am almost beside myself and checking her every few minutes. Any advice is welcome. I feel like she is safer here than at the hospital with her own bed and fluids, but I worry about the big diseases too. I will update again.

wunderwuman at 4:00 p.m.

previous | next