4.7.07

The Maritimes - Home of Keith's beer and snowstorms in April

Hello, hello. Here we are, in our new house, in our new town, on a quiet Easter weekend. We moved in on Thursday and have already had two bouts of visitors.

Steves aunt and cousin stopped by yesterday afternoon and then a couple of his friends came over last night and we spent a couple of hours playing video games and drinking beer.

Leila has started clapping, which is about the cutest thing I have ever seen, and my heart surges with pride every time she smacks those little hands together. She is not yet crawling, but rolls all over the floor, turns around and rolls in another direction. As Steve says, she can get where she wants to go.

I have to confess, I am starting to get a little worried because she barely even gets up onto all fours yet. Oh, I know lots of kids never crawl, and I know it is not ever considered a milestone, but when most of the other kids are crawling and some even walking while holding onto stuff and then people make comments like She doesn�t even crawl yet??. And then (venting!) when they come to my house and scoop my daughter out of her fathers arms and refuse to give her back so much that when he started to take her, she pulled back and it was like tug-of-war-baby and then when they carried her around and called her my baby. There is nothing that bothers me more than when someone besides Steve or I calls Leila their baby. You know what? You carry her in your body for nine and a half months, you nurse her from your breast, you change her shitty butt, you get barfed on and bitten and woken up five times a night, you get pushed away and screamed at and you loose all of your personal time, then you can call her yours.

I have a bug vent session built up inside but because I am worried about who reads (or can find) this page, I am not sure how much to say. It will come out eventually, I am sure, but I am really missing a good girlfriend close by.

Moving on. The house is mostly done, still clutter to put away and pictures to hang, but it is really starting to feel like home. We were both hit with a wave of homeyness last night as Steve barbequed some steak and I rinsed out the tub. We made a Kid Zone in our basement, filled with bright colours and soft mats and lots of toys. Leila loves it already, and we have been spending a lot of time down there. Our yard is a good size, although needs to be fenced, and has a perfect spot for a vegetable garden that I am going to start working on once the snow melts (oh you heard me. Welcome to the Maritimes, the only place in the country that has at least one guaranteed snowstorm in April. Sometimes even May.)

But the baby and the dog and the boy are all sleeping and I am going to take these moments to catch up on my internet reading before they wake and I have to start cleaning again.

wunderwuman at 8:19 a.m.

previous | next