02.23.06

Im always runnin, son-of-a-gunnin

Ah swimming. I finally got around to going. Or should I say that the pool was finally open when I wanted to go. I should have known better, though, than to buy a cheap bathing suit. There is nothing more annoying to me than the sagginess and awkward fit of a cheap bathing suit. I was lured by the fact that I could buy two for the price of one at a certain maternity store, instead of spending the money and buying a racer style one that would not have ballooned around me while I swam. You know how you think it fits well, but just this little pull here and here, and maybe a little too loose there but oh well it really is only worth what you pay for it? Then when you get in the water all of those things result in a swim where you constantly feel like your side boob might fall out. Ah, if only I had listened to Steve.

There was an accident the other day on the 401 just outside Kingston. A woman and her ten month old baby hit the median, she managed to get them out of the car, but they were hit by an oncoming car and the baby did not survive. It is the type of story that makes your heart feel like it is ripping in two and how do people survive after that sort of thing? How do you ever make love to your husband again, let alone decide to have another child? I think of her, laying in a hospital bed with her head injuries and wondered if she could even attend the funeral. These are the people who need prayers.

I signed up for a baby registry at Toys R Us, but could not find the right stuff to put on my list. So as of now, it is empty. I think that Steve and I (well he said he would although every day I ask him he keeps putting it off but my plan is to drag him there this weekend) are going to go to the store and pick things out there. I could find high chairs and bouncy seats and all those things, but I want to put sleepers and towels and bibs and stuff on there, too. A couple different people have asked me if I have registered anywhere, and a parcel I got in the mail yesterday made me realize that I better buy some Thank You cards because I think that will not be the last of those types of gifts. And I cannot very well direct someone to a baby registry that has nothing listed under one hundred dollars. So, I will pick out some cute outfits and some teddies and less expensive stuff at the store that is kind of hard to find online.

I had to forgo the morning doggie walk in order to make it to the pool for the morning swim, and Milo is waiting patiently, never too far from the door for that time that she knows I will finally decide to take her. I really should go now, but I keep wondering if Steve will want to go to the park tonight and if that is the case maybe we can ditch the walk today because my body has that warm wiggly feeling of tired muscles that I can only ever get from swimming. But, poor Milo does not understand the concept of waiting until four thirty to go outside and play, so it is time for me to dawn my sneakers, get the poop bags and head outside.

wunderwuman at 10:51 a.m.

previous | next