01.30.06

On the air there was a hungry even a boy could recognize

Another relaxing weekend come and gone. We usually take one day of the weekend (although often only every other weekend) to clean the house, dusting and mopping and all those horrible things. So it was nice to wake up to a clean house this morning. I cleaned out the guestroom yesterday, swept and stripped the bed, plugged in a new lamp. We went to Wal-Mart and bought two new lamps for our bedroom. We only had one in our room and a really dim lamp in the guestroom, so we bought two lamps for our room and put the other reading lamp in the guestroom. We were also looking for some kind of shelf to organize the laptop and printer and things that are always sitting on the dining room table. Steve keeps his computer out there, and mine is in the spare room set up at the desk. Anyway, we found a wine rack with places to store wine glasses, and since we have been coveting wine racks for a while, we decided to impulse purchase. Turns out it was a good impulse since we put the laptop on the top shelf, our wine glasses in the holders and our wine in the spots. It also goes nicely with our other little corner shelf and octagonal table we have in there. We are quite happy about it. I was also quite happy about a new lamp, since the lamp we had was on the other side of the bed and if we were both reading, Steve would always make a shadow across my page, and if he went to sleep earlier than me, I had to crawl across him (which is becoming increasingly difficult) to turn off the light and usually wake him up.

Anyway, this morning I cleaned out my closet and got rid of the clutter in the corners of our room and swept out the piles of dog fur that was hiding under our bed. Along with a mini rugby ball and a pair of boxers.

So Thursday I am heading to Waterloo and am quite excited about it. I went birthday present shopping on Friday and had to check myself because there were a thousand things I could have bought, I love birthday shopping.

I am tired today. Steve gave Milo the bone from our deer chop last night and it made her sick. She was up most of the night panting and we had to let her outside a couple of times to poop. She always gets sick when she gets the bones, and she really only gets like, two a year, but she loves them so much. I am not sure if she gets sick because they are too rich for her or because she eats them (and I mean completely consume) in about ten minutes. Normal dogs? They chew on the bone, eat the meat and then hide it, find it a while later, lick and chew a little and then leave the bone. Milo leaves nothing at all. Apparently, if you were lost in the woods of something with your dog and died, it would take the dog three days before they would eat you. We were joking last night that whoever found Milo would not even realize we had been there, she would eat all the evidence!

A while ago, I wrote my friend who is teaching English in Japan an email letting him know that I was pregnant and what was his mailing address and how was he and all that stuff. I have yet to hear back from him, but that is not unusual. This guy and I were best friends in high school. We almost dated in grade ten but just ended up becoming really good friends. For a while after high school we stayed close. He had sex with a couple of my friends, and I made out with a couple of his. In grade twelve I started dating the guy I lost my virginity to, and John started with his grudge against him after he found out that we had had sex.

As time continued, he got more and more mad every time that I would flirt with a friend of his or get a crush. He went to university in London and one Spring Break I went to Waterloo. I did not realize how close the two towns were so I did not call him until halfway through the week. He came to a party we had, told me I was a bitch and did not talk to me again for four months. The last time I saw him was New Years Eve 2002 (I think). I had agreed to meet a bunch of people in Halifax but woke up that day with a really bad stomach bug. I was throwing up every hour and really did not want to go. But we had all made a hotel reservation (in my name) and John was coming down from the Mirimichi that day and I had not seen him for a while, as well as a couple other friends I had not seen since the summer so I got my dad to drive me up. Anyway, John was at best unsympathetic and told me I was being a pussy when I said no thank you to the rum they had bought. We hung out in the hotel for a while, then went to a couple house parties before I decided to leave and went back to my res room. I called them the next morning and went over to the hotel and I think we went for breakfast or something. Anyway, he barely said two words to me because he was mad that I had left. I told him that I had been getting sick all day and really was not in the mood to party and go to bars but somehow he found this to be a personal insult. Anyway, I heard from him maybe once or twice since then through emails. He did not even tell me he was moving to Japan, I just heard it through the grapevine. I never really understood what happened between us, although in retrospect, I guess it was for the best since he never seemed to be really happy for me at times in my life when I felt the best and I doubt if he would have liked Steve, even though if they had met outside of our relationship, I think they would have gotten along.

Anyway, I had a dream about John last night. We were all in the Artic and Steve wanted me to go scuba diving with him, but I was too scared to dive under the ice. He was getting really frustrated with me because we had planned this dive a while ago and I was bailing out, but it was night and I could see wolves on the ice and I said I was too scared. John came in and said he did not know to dive but would snorkel while Steve dove. Anyway, I was worried that they were going to freeze because the water was so cold and I was upset that Steve was mad at me.

Since I have been pregnant, I have been having crazy dreams though. Most of them are about Steve, that we are broken up or in a fight and I realize that whatever we were fighting about was not worth not being together and I keep trying to find him but I cannot seem to. Anyway, it was a weird dream last night and left me feeling strange this morning.

So I need to get some lunch into me and then hop into the shower before I head to the Food Bank. I really would rather laze around all day, and feel bad about leaving Milo and hope she does not have diarrhea on the floor while I am gone.

Since that one day, the baby has been back to her normal schedule of fluttering around a couple times a day, nothing as vigorous as those big kicks or as steady as they were, but it is still nice to feel her in there. And now it is time for a sandwich.

wunderwuman at 11:34 a.m.

previous | next