01.27.06

Flowers competing for the sun

Holy smokes this is one active kid. I got kicked and bumped and nudged almost all day long yesterday. I got my usually nudge in the morning while I was wolfing down my peanut butter toast on my way out the door to the gym and smiled and figured that would be all for baby movement. I felt her moving most of the afternoon and into the evening, sitting quiet while I ate supper and watched some tv, but she woke back up again when it was time for bed. I was not that tired, so I laid in bed feeling her flutter around in there, trying to determine what each different movement was and in awe of that fact that there is a human being inside of my body right now. I woke up once in the middle of the night, shifted positions and got a nudge, and then got a few more as Steve got out of bed this morning and we talked. One of them was almost big enough to feel from the outside, so I figure it will be another couple of weeks before Steve will be able to feel on a regular basis.

I had a long talk with my father last night, which was nice. He is busy and we go for a week or so without much beyond hellos and short emails and then seem to catch up. We talked about the election and the results and the impending leadership campaign and all that is exciting. He asked me how I was and how the baby is. I think our trips to Flordia are going to overlap for a few days this year, which will be nice and a first. My parents are coming to visit on February 12 for two nights (Liam is just coming for one) so we talked about Kingston. Then he asked about the baby again, so I told him how much she has been moving. When I got off the phone I told Steve that I think her grandfather is already in love with her.

I went to look for maternity jeans the other day, as I felt that two pairs of pants just was not enough, and I found a pair of jeans for ten bucks at Old Navy. I swiped them up of course, but spent about twenty minutes looking at baby clothes and newborn outfits. My little cousin is turning one in April and I saw way too many cute things for her. My mom asked me to pick her up a little outfit for a birthday girl so I am returning with glee later today. Also on the list, start birthday hunting for Amanda (I decided not to make you a gift after all, sorry), find something for supper and take Milo for a walk. I have decided that there will be no more park for just me and Milo. She is getting more and more protective everyday, not letting dog nor human within a hundred feet of me, and last time we went, I ended up walking on the mushy muddy grass the whole time, slowing down to avoid coming across runners, dogs and the innocent. She was never bad like this until I got pregnant, and at first it was just if I tried to pet another dog or a man approached me. But it has been getting more severe with my growing belly and since the days are getting longer, we can go after Steve gets home from work now. So I have resigned to walks on the leash everyday (which is not half the energy burner that tearing around after squirrels is, but what can I do?) and making an effort to get to the park three or four times a week with Steve to let her tear around and burn off her extra steam.

We are both fighting off a bug and feel dreary and under the weather today. Steve is notorious for his immune system, he was exhausted yesterday for no apparent reason, has a headache and tickle in his throat today, but by Sunday will be feeling like his regular self. I am generally pretty good, too, but am aware that this pregnancy slows me down, so will eat lots of vitamin C today and drink lots of water.

And now it is time for a morning muffin and a walk with the dog.

wunderwuman at 10:00 a.m.

previous | next