04.25.03

This wound has become infected

It's so tragic, and itmakes me wonder. Make me remember his small frame, hunched over a cigarete. Or his glazed eyes from too much pot smoke.

Sometimes, when someone dies, I feel as though I don't have the right to mourn them, and I don't know why.

Like when Jared, a distant friend, killed himself three or four summers ago, or when Gabrielle died last fall. I feel like it's not my right, I was close enough to them. And that that's my fault, beacuse I could have made the conscious decision to have our lives touch each other more frequently. And because of that, I have no right to mourn.

But when death leanded on my doorstep, when my grandmother and my aunt died within three weeks of each other, I felt the same way. She wasn't my mother, like she was my cousin's mother. I had let her sickness scare me away from staying close to her, I had run away, as far as I could, and I abandoned my family for four years, until I realized that they were who I was. So why should I be allowed to mourn her.

And I guess maybe I'm selfish, thinking about me and they way this all makes me feel, when there's a boy I barely knew buried beside his mother, who he found hanging from a rope nine years ago. Maybe I've created a circle for myself, where I always loop back into myself, because I'm just too damn scared to open my heart to anyone who might hurt me. And in the end, I'm always the only loser.

wunderwuman at

previous | next