06.18.02

That's the good stuff

Swimming lesson again tonight. I'm tired but not ready to sleep. It's as though I'm always tired, but you get used to this certian level of burning eyes and yawns.

I was thinking about beauty today. A lot of people have told me that I'm beautiful in my life. Some have meant it, more have said it to get into my pants. Personally, I don't think I'm beautiful. My eyes stick out too far from my face and my profile is ugly. I have a decent body and a nice smile, but really, I'm nothing outstanding. So I was wondering to myself why people who know me so well think that I'm so beautiful. And maybe it's because I think so many things are beautiful. Life in itself, even in it's saddest moments is completely beautiful. The sky and the trees and swimming and the people on the bus on the way to work and the mist in the air as I came out of the pool and unlocked my bike. The birds sitting on the water, the puddles that never clear up outside my doorstep - all of these things are beautiful.

And so maybe, just maybe seeing the beauty in other things helps people see the beauty in you.

wunderwuman at

previous | next