12.23.08

Merry Christmas

I finished the last of my baking today, and the freezer is too full, overflowing onto the deck, which is storing our no-doubt completely frozen apple pie. At least there's an upside to this cold snap.

My younger brother was supposed to head to Spain yesterday to spend Christmas with his gf, but got sidelined by a storm and is grounded until the 26. My older brother couldn't end up getting out of Vancouver, so is in BC for Christmas instead of with my parents. And the four of us are all snug and cozy, tucked in tight, with my two brother in laws and sister in law here tonight, with the parents coming tomorrow after work. There'll be church and late arrivals and lasagne with those who won't drink wine and while everything seems not quite right and like this isn't how things should be done, I'm trying to go with the flow and remember that families are all different and just because it isn't the way I'm used to things being done, just means it's different, not wrong.

We had a big storm yesterday and the half-arsed job the snow plow did around town sent me to the indoor track this afternoon. Tomorrow we are taking everyone to a Rec Centre that has laser tag and bowling and a huge jungle gym in the morning, Steve will be getting his portion of the turkey dinner ready (and we'll end up having everything prepared ahead of time except the turkey and obligatory warming of dishes which I think will make Christmas Day less flustering and also, hurray for us for being so organized), and I'm going to try to sneak out for a quick jaunt as log as the roads aren't miserable. It helps me stay a little more Zen amidst the craziness that will surround.

I've been meaning to comment on entries for a good two weeks now to everyone, but just know I've been thinking about you and have much to say, it's just the time is lacking. Lastly, not sure if anyone's been reading this website but I am going to be writing a success story for it sometime... soonish. I hope. I mean, I'll definitely be writing a success story, but, err, I'm just having trouble finding the time. My goal is before the end of the month.

Anyway, I hope everyone has the merriest Christmas!

wunderwuman at 9:55 p.m.

previous | next