10.27.08

Feeling better due to some sleep

Feeling *much* better today... Alena slept from seven until five, and so I got seven consecutive hours of sleep, hurrah!

I piled her sleepy self into her carseat at six thirty to make it to my dr's appointment to get a mole on the back of my neck removed this morning.

In other news, I was *this* close to putting a bottle of formula in Alena's mouth last night (except there is obviously none in the house so I wasn't really soooo close). When the days are long and I'm feeling crappy and Leila seems to always know when to push it just a little too far and Alena wants to nurse non-stop and every one seems to wants something and I feel like I give and give and give and it leaves me feeling like yelling at them all to just give me five damn minutes alone to check my email or pee in peace and quiet. And as if she knew I needed a break, Alena slept last night, and it made all the difference in the world.

Do other moms feel this way, about breast feeding specifically, I mean? Does it drain on you after the millionth time that day? And what do you do to get through it?

I think the thing I'm learning is on those looooooooong days, the only choice is to just get through it. And know that eventually it passes, eventually we get through and feel better.

And at five this morning, when I picked Alena out of her crib and she was so hungry she nuzzled into my neck and started sucking and kicked her feet like she's saying Faster! Faster! Faster! I was so happy to nurse her. And she stayed awake for an hour, which is much longer than usual, coming off the breast to stare at me, then smiling and mashing her face back in. Eventually, her sucking slowed and she just laid there, awake, but resting, while I leaned my head against the chair and half-slept.

It's not a magical switch that gets turned on to make my exasperated days turn to mushy lovey nights, it's just sleep. Sweet, sweet sleep. Keep your fingers that her reign of no-sleep-terror is over for now and I'll get another good night tonight.

Also! Five months old! How hard is that to believe? And rolling over all the time! :) She's been having a little bit of cereal and has suddenly become very aware of us eating, grabbing at our forks and smacking her lips. I dare say in another month, this little girl will be very ready for some veggies.

wunderwuman at 10:49 a.m.

previous | next