5.24.08

Cookies, Playdates and Indy

HUUUUUGGEEEE SIIIIIIGHHHHH.

Can you guess? I'm still pregnant. Even after hot peppers with supper, getting on the breast pump and exercise ball, a hot shower... over the past week I've done everything to encourage stimulation, to no avail.

Although, at risk of eating humble pie tomorrow (and at this point, I have been eating everything I can get my grubby paws on because why NOT have extra hot fudge on my ice cream, I'm STILL PREGNANT), once May 18 came and went, I had a funny feeling I would go six days late. Oh, I won't mention the cramping and discomfort, because that's been going on for weeks.But it's seriously playing havoc on my brain to know that I'm literally millimetres away from active labour and nothing I am doing seems to be making a difference.

Anyway, Leila was born on my grandmother's birthday, June 14. Today is my great-grandmother's birthday. Also, I was six days late. So maybe my kids like to copy people in their family? Bah.

Anyway, my induction got bumped until Monday, so Steve is planning on running in a 5k run tomorrow for Juvenile Diabetes. We are getting together with a friend and her two young kids this afternoon which will be a great way to pass time as the kids get along really well and we've been friends forever. (Side note: I have a friend with a little boy two months older than Leila. She's never been too fond of him, even before they could crawl. They haven't seen each other in about a year, but she is moving back to my hometown and we'll get together most times I'm there and she told me they've been having trouble with him hitting, and how do I adress that? If he hits Leila or the new baby? How do you get together with your friends when your kids don't get along? It totally ruins the visit for everyone.)

They told me to call at seven on Monday morning, so we are going to drop Leila off at daycare, since she didn't go at all last week and has been talking about wanting to go play there, and then tell MIL to pick her up at three Monday afternoon. For some reason, I feel like if I don't go into labour today, it won't happen tomorrow either.

Anyway, Leila is sleeping and then we are going to make some cookies and then go to the park with my friend and then nap time, supper time, groceries somewhere mixed in there. The days have gone by soooooo slowly this week, but at least today we have some things to keep us busy (read: my mind occupied) and if we actually had a babysitter, I would want to go see Indiana Jones tonight. Because I'm not the biggest Harrison Ford fan, but the way I figure it is, how can Indy do anything but distract you from yourself for a couple of hours?

wunderwuman at 9:34 a.m.

previous | next