4.29.08

My dad and other stuff

Dad had his surgery yesterday. The infected area was bigger than anticipated, and the doctor said that this type of skin cancer grows before it shows symptoms, so it's probably been growing for about two years. The area is about as big as a loonie (2.7cms diametre) and they had to graph the skin from his colarbone instead of behind his ear as planned. He has stitches and bandages for seven days and then four to six months for the site to heal completely.

His surgery was in Toronto, and he insisted on going alone, so my mom was at home yesterday wringing her hands and updating me as she was updated. They are coming Friday and he was worried what Leila would think, if she would be afraid of him with the bandage on his face, and well, that just about broke my heart. So last night was restlesness between the couch and bed and general worrying keeping me awake.

Last night we worked in the yard, which was nice and the first time of the season. I pulled out the remainders of last year's tomatoe plants and weeds in the veggie garden while Steve raked the gravel off the lawn that the plow so nicely spread for us. Then we dumped a bunch of peatmoss into the box and I hoed it and mixed it in. We joked about putting me into labour, but other than some BHs through the night nothing came of it. I was planning on going for a long walk today, but the pouring rain has deterred me, so I'll do Pilates or Yoga instead.

wunderwuman at 9:01 a.m.

previous | next