11.13.07

Say what you mean, mean what you say

Leila has a new word/ Da-CH! Always said with enthusiasm. The only problem? Neither Steve nor I have any idea what it means.

She tells us intently, Da-ch, insistently, Da-CH!, histerically, DAAA-CH DA-CHHHHH!!!!!. Still, no idea. I thought maybe book, maybe box. Neither of which were right. This past weekend, she told my mom, very seriously, da-ch, da-ch? Da-ch!... da-ch.

Other words on her list include shoes (jus), milk (num-num), woof woof or dog (huh-huh), meow or kitty (aaaahhhhoooo), cow or moo (buuupppppphhhhh), the ever present ta-ta which ranges from sweet to down right frantic TAAAATAAAAAAAAA, Ball (ba!), bye (deh), baby (beee-bee), Mama (which she only says when it is just me and her, otherwise she still calls me dada), Dada of course and she has been working on Leila (lala, leala). That one she seems to be really shy to say outloud, so she whispers it to herself quietly.

She is an ever cautious little girl. Never takes quickly to a stranger, and is always very cautious when approaching new things. She likes to eat crayons though, and colour. She absolutely loves to wear new shoes, dress up her beee-bees, toddle around naked, get chased, pat Milo, give hugs, help wash herself in the tub, splash the water, pretend she is going to give you a kiss then turn away at the last minute coyly, show you where her belly-button is and try to tickle Steve and I.

She is happy every morning when we arrive at daycare, and just as happy to leave at the end of the day. She eats like a bird though, but chugs more milk than humanly imaginable. She has been expressing a growing interest in toilets, especially when Daddy is peeing because, Whassat??.

Basically, this little girl has barrelled into my life and my heart. She makes me inexplicably happy, she has magically strengthened mine and Steves relationship, she crashed down all the walls I had surrounding my heart, exposing me for the true emotional sap I am. And now here comes another. My life is incredible, it truly is. I have the best husband I could ever ask for, the best child. And yet more is to come. Another one to love, another one to make me stronger, better. Another angel in my life.

wunderwuman at 6:58pm

previous | next