6.20.06

Waiting up until you get home

We were warned about exhaustion. About this feeling of being constantly tired. And I expected it, I just am still a little suprised by how completely the fatigue wraps around my brain, making me unable to think of anything other than baby and sleep.

The first few days were glorious, she slept and slept and slept. The last few days she has switched it up on us, crying for milk every two hours, but falling asleep before she really gets a chance to eat. Crying for no reason until I want to cry because she pushes my breasts away with her little fists.

And then there are the moments when she falls asleep with her hand curled around mine, or wakes up and watches us with those big thoughtful eyes, blinking slowly and opening and closing her mouth. Or when she finds her hand and smacks on her fingers. And all of those near-tear moments vanish because of one little smirk.

Every day is a roller coaster of fatigue and tears (both of us) and laughter and stress and the happiest moments of my life. I think that this may just be what parenthood is all about.

wunderwuman at 7:20 a.m.

previous | next