4.25.06

The waiting game continues

So the thing is, this house had another offer on it when we put ours in. The offer was accepted and everything, but it was pending the sale of the house that the offerers live in. Usually what happens is that if a second offer goes in and is accepted, the home inspection is done. If everything passes and everyone is ready to move forward, the original offer is given twenty-four hours to come up with the money to buy the house. Our real estate agent planned it so that the other people would be given notice on Saturday night, so their 24 hours would be on Saturday and Sunday when the banks are not open. However, the sellers agent wants to tell them today, this way, if they come up with the money, we at least save our home inspection fees. Our offer got a sign back for, believe it or not, one set of curtains. They gave us until Wednesday night to get back to them, and since our agent is off today, we are getting together Wednesday at one thirty. By then we should know about the pending offer, and of course are letting them take the stupid curtains. Assuming that the first offer does not go through, all that is left after Wednesday is to get officially approved. So it still stands that we will know by the end of the week. But our offer got accepted, at six thousand less than asking price and a closing date of August 31! We did not hear back yesterday until after six, so we were sure that they wanted to negotiate price or asking date, but it turns out the man was working 45 minutes away all day, so they did not even sit down to discuss it until suppertime.

Did I mention that our nursery is officially finished? Well, I guess not officially finished, since my mom is sending up a painting that we got in the DR over Christmas that we are going to hang above the crib. We bought a painting and the vendor gave us this one especially for the baby. He showed us pictures of his kids and asked us about my pregnancy and gave us a painting for her. We are going to buy diapers once I am full term, I mailed my cord blood stuff yesterday so it should get there today. They will send a cord blood collection kit which we bring to the hospital, get the midwife to collect it at birth and then call them within two hours of the sample being taken. Between now and then I have to get some blood tests, for serious blood diseases, although I have been tested for everything from syphilis to HIV to antibodies during this pregnancy, but they want their own records I guess.

I am becoming less mobile, and less enticed by travel. We are going to Toronto for the day on Thursday because Steve is running the steps of the CN Tower for this charity, and after Thursday, I do not really have much of a desire to meander too far from Kingston. This is also the last week before the birth that I will not see the midwife. We have a home visit next week and then move on to weekly visits.

I have held off packing my hospital bags and am making myself wait until 37 weeks, because really, three weeks is long enough to have a duffel bag sitting in the corner and I have in the back of my mind that this child will not be born until June 5, anyway. My friend who had the cesarian got home from the hospital yesterday, so I am going to give her a call tomorrow and maybe head over for a visit on Friday. My car is going in for an oil change and its 3200 kms checkup, so I am wheel-less tomorrow. Also, it is raining again, and Milo is pacing. I walked her yesterday in the rain and would again today, but heard on the radio that it is supposed to stop this afternoon, so I am making her wait until it clears up a little.

Until then, keep your fingers crossed for the other offer falling through and our approval!

wunderwuman at 9:57 a.m.

previous | next