04.21.06

Blah blah blah

Steve dislocated his shoulder yesterday playing basketball and ended up going to the doctor. And while he was there, he asked the doctor to look at his back which has been flirting with going out for about a week now. So the doctor sent him to physio for both and told him no lifting weights or lifting anything over his head for thirty days, and the doctor wants him assessed to see if he needed surgery. Steve told him he was going on parental leave in six weeks for seven months and really could not have shoulder surgery right now because of the baby, so he has to go back in January and get checked out and probably get surgery. He has already had it on his other shoulder about five years ago. Apparently, the surgery is much less invasive now and consequently has a much quicker recovery time, but it still sucks. This shoulder has been popping in and out of joint for the last two years, but I guess yesterday was the worst, as in it came out the farthest. So, that sucks, but at least if he gets surgery, it will be over with and no more shoulder worries.

Oh yeah, my preggo friend had her baby. 9lbs 13oz! She ended up having a c-section and is still in hospital, so I am not sure if she was induced or they went right to the section or what. I am going to give her a call once she has been home for a couple days and bring her the little gift I bought (I hope it fits!) and some muffins or something to eat, too.

We went to our childbirth classes last night and they showed us a video. It was really vivid and really, um, painful looking. Like, it made me cringe sometimes. The woman was really calm and I am not convinced that will be me. Some days I think I am totally ready to give birth and some days it scares me. Either way, I guess these videos are good to see, but even Steve looked at me and said That looked really painful. While I was thinking that it was not as messy as I would have expected, another person commented on all the goop (yes, that is the medical term). The baby is covered in white stuff and there was a bit of blood, but that was all. Of course they did not show the poop. Oh the poop.

I am not really that shy as far as my body goes. I am pretty comfortable being naked, and the midwife getting up close and personal with my vagina is not one of my concerns (thankfully) about labour. And neither is pooping, really. Until I thought about giving birth in a different position other than the bed. Like maybe on my hands and knees. And then that made pooping a little more embarrassing to me. Because that is like, front row seats to watching me shit, which is a little weird. And also, you pee. Which surprised me a little, because who ever knew that?

Today Steve is bringing home a guy from work to look at his brakes, because he has to fix them before he sells his car. This guy might bring his wife, too. Apparently they are really nice and we are trying to recruit them as friends. Tomorrow we are meeting our real estate agent at ten and going to look at houses, yesterday I finalized my will and everything that goes along with it, such as picking a guardian for our kid and setting up a financial situation that would help Steve raise her if something should happen to me. So, I have a will and life insurance, I am going to be a mom and buy a house. Oh yeah and I have a car and a dog and an almost-husband. I do not think that there is any single loophole out there that I could slip through and pretend that I am not an adult.

We found this new church that we have gone to for two weeks running now. Honestly, I have not been that into it, although the first week I had this crazy hot flash and we ended up having to go sit in the foyer by the door, and last week I was really congested and did not have much time for anything, so hopefully this week I feel some sort of connection to it. Steve really likes it, and sometimes I feel like there is this push and pull between us and what we want in a church. So hopefully I am into it this week and feel what I need to feel inside to make me want to continue going there, because we are both getting tired of trying new ones.

Did I mention that we hung up a clothesline? And that I love it? It makes laundry a novelty lately, so I am trying to get as many sheets and blankets washed and hung out to dry before this novelty wears off. Not much on the docket for today, I kind of want to bake but am out of flour. I think I will rake the yard, and do some laundry and maybe even sweep. What a boring entry this was. Huh, oh well.

wunderwuman at 9:07 a.m.

previous | next