04.12.06

Ugh, my head

So. Seven week left. Seven.

I had a dream the other night that we had the baby home with us. My mom and Steve and me were all sitting on the couch and we had him (oddly enough the baby was a boy) swaddled in the fleece blanket that hangs on the end of our couch. I was so happy, but could not remember anything about the birth. I took him into his room to change his diaper and oddly enough the baby was the boy version of Baby Shivers. Anyway I asked Steve how early he had been and if he had been in an incubator. So this dream prompted me to start baby laundry yesterday, and two and a half loads later, blankets and clothes and facecloths and sleepers and onesies are all folded in a laundry basket waiting to be put into the dresser my parents are sending once they get home from down south.

Steve was sick last week and weekend. He drank a couple times while I was away, and played too much squash and went for too many runs and ran too many stairs and his immune system took the toll and he caught the flu. The fact that he was working outside in the rain all week last week did not help either. Anyway, last weekend consisted mostly of him resting and sleeping and me making sure he ate good food and drank enough fluids and finally convincing him to take some cold medication. Unfortunately, it feels like I am not fighting the same bug. I thought I would escape it because I have lots of time to rest and have been chomping down on the vitamin C, but alas, everyday this week I have woken up with a throat more sore than the day before and a heavier head. Today is definitely the worst day, waking up with a ball of mucus at the back of my throat and a throat so tight I could not swallow. I hoped that a walk with Milo would make me feel better, but it just kind of got things running, and now I am continuously sniffing. I am meeting my pregnant friend who is now a whole three days overdue for coffee in an hour and will most definitely keep my distance.

Other than baby laundry and a cold nothing else is new. Liam is coming on Friday for the weekend and we are going to Ottawa for the day on Saturday and I really hope that this cold does not escalate into a weekend-long flu like it did with Steve. The fact that the baby laundry is done and the receiving blankets have all fluffed up in the dryer and I already have planned what I am going to pack for her to wear home from the hospital makes me so happy inside.

Oh yeah, we also went on a tour last night of the hospital. And while I had a moment of what could be described as panic when we walked into the actual labour/delivery/recovery room, it was all very exciting and I got a lump in my throat when I had a(nother) moment of realization that this is real and we are having a baby and I just cannot wait to meet her and to be a mom and for Steve to be a dad.

That said, the baby has been really inactive lately, and I get a little worried sometimes when I do not feel any movement for a few hours at a time. She did not move around at all last night, and has been pretty quiet all morning. I am going to give her until after my coffee date and then possibly call the midwives and ask if that is ok. While I hate to over-react, I also think that I need some reassurance. On that note I need a quick shower and then to get ready. Lets hope that the heat and running water will wake this kid up enough for a roll-around or a good kick.

Update. I stopped in at the midwives this afternoon after my coffee. They took me in, felt the baby, handed me a box of tissue and listened for her heartbeat. Strong and even, and I even got a couple kicks while I was there. I did not expect the flood of tears that came with hearing that noise. She reassured me to page next time if I am not close, and we would just meet at the hospital where they would suit me up with a fetal monitor for about 20 minutes. As expected, everything is fine, but it was nice to be reassured.

wunderwuman at 12:13 p.m.

previous | next