03.22.06

Wide Open Spaces

Another appointment today, everything went well and while there was a miniscule trace of protein in my pee my blood pressure was fine and I am measuring perfectly at 30 centimetres from pubic bone to the top on my uterus. (Side note? Seriously? My uterus is 30 centimentres long? I continue to be amazed with my body.) I hesitated about telling the Midwife about the protein because somewhere in the depths of my mind reminded me that I am flying to Florida tomorrow and really did not want to be told to stay home. Then I remembered our little sex session last night and how I had not taken a shower yet this morning and figured that the protein was not actually in my urine, but in the seamen. Anyway, I told her and told her that we had sex and she said that sometimes protein just shows up and as long as the blood pressure is fine, there is usually nothing to worry about.

I got some American money today, got some last minute groceries for Steve (I think I spoil that boy) and started working on his birthday dinner. Oh yeah, and I made a cake. Despite my protests that I have a really good white cake recipe from scratch and it would be ever so delicious, he maintained that he wanted chocolate cake with white icing, so I resorted to a mix. Stop judging. Anyway, I made it in two round pans and then sandwiched them together. In hindsight, I probably should have cut the rounded top off the bottom one because the cake is a little, ah, lopsided. Oops. This is actually the first birthday cake I have ever made, mix or no mix. Also? This is the first birthday of Steves that we have been physically together. The first year he was on tour in the Middle East and last year he had just started his course in Gagetown. So hurray for firsts.

Remember I wrote that entry about my lack of sex drive? Well it seems to be coming back and at the risk of delivering too much info, the last few times we have had sex, not only has it felt good, there have been no odd twinges of pain of discomfort anywhere in my body which made it so much easier to actually focus on and enjoy what was going on.

I got a parcel in the mail today from a friend in Halifax, it was two of the things on my baby registry. I am totally floored and grateful and feel like it was so unnecessary yet typically her to be so generous in her gift giving.

That said, it is time to take Milo outside for her daily twenty minutes of fetch before Steve gets home. His present is sitting on the dining room table looking enticing even to me and I know what it is! Supper is roast chicken, dessert is chocolate cake, I am headed to Florida tomorrow, and the birds have been chirping all day. Not much more a girl can ask for. And I just got a kick of approval from my subtenant.

wunderwuman at 3:57 p.m.

previous | next