01.23.06

Still sleepless

Ugh. I had a horrible sleep last night. I had all these big plans for this morning, but when I got up with Steve, he said I looked exhausted and so back to bed I went for a couple hours. Does this go away? This waking up every two hours feeling wide awake with a sore back and cranky at Steve for putting his foot on my side of the bed or breathing with his mouth open just because I am the one who cannot sleep and sleeping seems so obnoxious? I think it does, only to be replaced by a howling newborn.

The weekend was good, Sara, Steves sister came to visit so that was nice and we did all the tour things with her. And then yesterday afternoon we went to see Glory Road, which although it was basically Remember the Titans v. Basketball, it was better than I expected and left me with a nice feeling inside.

So this morning I am headed to the gym (maybe a workout-less weekend contributed to my lack of sleep last night), coming home to walk the dog and then this afternoon from one till four I am volunteering at the Food Bank. It is something I am going to do every Monday afternoon. And if I like it, I am going to start on Thursdays, too.

I am bored, plain and simple. I thought about getting a part time job, but realistically, we do not need the money, and I would really like to be flexible enough to go to Florida and be off when Steve is on vacation and all those things. And it can be so damn hard to volunteer at places! They want one year contracts, which obviously I cannot commit to, so I figured the Food Bank was a good place to start. Also? I am going to look into a yoga class once a week. I guess this Yoga studio used to offer a prenatal class, but I have the name of the instructor, so I am just going to go to a regular class that she teaches and tell her (show her? I think I do not really need to tell people anymore, I swear my belly has grown this weekend!) I am pregnant. Other than that, any suggestions from the mommies or unemployed or newly moved out there? There are so many groups for new parents but seemingly none for the expectant ones, and I would just really, really like to meet a friend.

And I am off to start my day!

P.S. Go Vote!

wunderwuman at 9:43 a.m.

previous | next