11.09.04

I'm in a place called Vertigo

I cover switchboard every other day at noon, so here I am crunching away on some veggies while I pretend to do some work (there isn�t enough to go around the closer it gets to Christmas).

It�s getting cold, I�ve all but given up my bike for the year, although I might have to ride it to work tomorrow, chance of flurries and all. I go to the gym before work every day, squint my sleepy eyes against the neo lights at 7.15am, and tell my body to wake up. It�s been a long time, and I can feel the price my body is paying for letting myself get out of shape. Constant aches and twinges, sore knees and ankles� but that fades as the body gets stronger.

So this is my life, wake up, gym, work, supper, sleep. Yesterday for the first time, I missed school. Not the papers and the work and the stress and the constant something waiting to be done, but the reading and the classes, and the thinking about something I had never thought of before, the changing thoughts. I guess it�s up to me now, to provide myself with that. But maybe not quite yet, I�ve barely read the news in the last two weeks, I just hear it on the radio.

I think I need to start taking more time for myself, in the evenings. I don�t have any time when it�s just me. I spend almost every free minute with Steve, and if for some reason we don�t, there are roommates. Most days I don�t mind, just lately I feel like I haven�t had time to breathe. How can I slow down time?

wunderwuman at

previous | next