03.17.03

Wheat kings and pretty things

I'm in the middle of an essay about Quebec nationalism. It's about the Quiet Revolution and the failure of the Meech Lake and Charlottetown Accords. It's about seperatism, and their provincial parties. I have five pages of fourteen written.

I took a break to eat supper. I took a break to go to the pub to say hello to drunk people on St. Paddy's Day. I'm telling myself I'm finished for the night, because my eyes are tired, but mostly because I wrote a lot today, and there are two days left before it's due.

But it's at that point, you know? Where everything else you're doing is preoccupied by thoughts of this paper. Where I can't do nothing, because I feel like I should be doing this paper. This paper about Qu�bec.

I think something should be done by the federal government to please Qu�bec. To recogonize their individuality in a country full of anglophones. They throw money at them, but money is never a long-term solution. At the same time, it frusterates me, because so many people don't look farther east than Qu�bec. Did you know that there are four poor provinces out here? You loved us for our trees and fishes and beavers. Now that we don't have many of those left, you don't care about us.

But now it's 10:00 and I'm going to lay in bed and veg out to some t.v. show and fall asleep. Tomorrow morning is the gym and class and then more of this essay. And in two days, I'll be one assignment closer to finishing my third year of university.

Wheat Kings and pretty things,
let's just see what tomorrow brings...

wunderwuman at

previous | next