05.26.02

I'll be ok

I'm in love. I didn't think it was possible to fall more in love with someone every time you see them after seven months. Especially when your future is unknown. Especially when you can't see them every day. But it is.

I've never been with a boy and seen a future with him. I've never told a boy so much. A boy has never told me I was his best friend. Except this boy.

I like my job. They told me it was open to me next summer if I wanted it. I would think about staying there after I graduate for a few months. Until I save enough money to move to Europe. France. Normandy. Live in a small northern French town for an undetermined period of time. That's what I want.

But eventually I want to come back to this place. These buds on trees, these old stone buildings that retain their beauty, when in other cities they become dirty and ugly. Opressing and hateful. I want to come back to little towns with road signs written in Gaelic and Prince Edward Island visible on clear days. I want to come back to sunshine pouring through open windows in the morning and sweet redheaded boys rolling over to hug me and kiss my ear. Actually, I want to bring all of that with me. Back to Saint Mary's, then to France. Then everywhere. I want to say, "Wait for me. These next two years, wait for me."

wunderwuman at

previous | next