05.03.02

Don't ride that train no more

I make a point not to write about my political opinions in here. I don't know why, but I feel as though it's not the right place for them. I don't advertise my opinions a lot, actually. I don't like arguing.

Yesterday we ended up going whale watching afterall. The whales were sleeping, they surface for a few breaths then submerge again for about five minutes. The were heading north. So we followed them for a while, but the wind kept spraying us with bouths of cold Pacific water, so eventually we turned back to calmer waters.

The ocean was rough. We were in a Zodiac. John and I have had conversations about which is more powerful, water or fire. I always said water, he agreed. The ocean fools you. It sparkles in the sun a prety blue, it gives you lifelines like the fish you eat. You swim and play in it. It moves slowly, so slowly we don't often see the danger it holds.

As we sped against the wind yesterday, the zodiac hit the water with bone jarring force. I held on the the railing and lifted my bum off the seat to absorb the shock with my legs. If I hadn't held onto the railing, everytime we broke a wave, I was lifted off my seat. By the time we docked, my hands were red and frozen and sore.

If you were on a fishing boat on that ocean yesterday and it sank, you would have no hope to survive. The waves would have swallowed you before long. You have to be careful of the ocean, it will lull you into calm, then turn on you. We haven't conquered it - we never will. We're measly creatures with huge egos. Just because we climb a mountian or ride a wave we think that we've become more powerful.

Ten foot waves on an ocean are nothing more than a burp from the earth. The earth cold swallow us all at any moment if she wanted. Humans and their arrogance, sometimes it leaves me stunned.

wunderwuman at

previous | next