01.14.01

My hopes exceed my expectations

WOAH!!! I just came across the lyrics to a Sarah Harmer song that is about the WEstray Mining Disaster! I guess it's not a good way to get on the map, but when people start singing songs about us, hey, who am I??

WESTRAY
A natural disaster comes out wasn't natural after all
In a small town on the East Coast
They've gathered in a fire hall.
And who forgot to let the canary out?
Will you be there when they're pulling bodies out?

There are strange things done

under the gun
By the men who moil for coal.
Eastern gales of howled out tales
That would make your blood run cold.
Lighthouse eyes wathces us spies
And they put a word out on me.
That night you and I got lost on the drive
Up the coast of the Northumberland Straight.

You'll know in a little while if this was meant to be
Are they afraid of you?
Are you afraid of me?

There wasn't a breath in the land of death
And I hurried, horror driven.
Was it something I said, somewhere in her head
I just asked for the answers given.
Twenty minutes up the road just off the great highway.
I won't be around here for long,
I did not come to stay.

You'll know in a little while if this was meant to be
Are they afraid of you?
Are you afraid of me?

And one year later it has yet to come clear
No one's doing anything, cause they're scared of the way they might appear.
They're ignoring all the signals they could not afford to hear,
Private investors in public fear.

My hopes exceed my expectations...

wunderwuman at

previous | next