08.22.01/2

You are who, who you are

She said the right thing again. I love that girl.

When I look at you I see that sometimes you're a 12-year-old in a 20-year-old body. And sometimes you're a 42-year-old in a 20-year-old body. It doesn't matter. You're the 12-year-old and the 20-year-old and the 42-year-old all at once. You're a poet, and a politician, and a peasant and a princess. You're all of those things, all at once, and many more. You have the skills and the strength and the intelligence to be all of those things, and to be none of those things. You're defined by where you come from and that's important, but it's only as important as you want it to be. I know it's tired and hackneyed, but you really can be anything you want to be, don't ever forget that.

When I look at you I see that sometimes you're too proud, that you hold too much inside, that you push people away when you need them most. I see that sometimes that works for you, sometimes that gets you through, and sometimes it breaks you down. I also see that you know when to go out on your own, and you know when to ask for help.

When I look at you I see a girl who was forced to grow up too fast, and I see a young woman who's handling it beautifully. You are your own person. You're are your mother, and your friends, and Jimmy's ex, and your father's daughter, but you are those things in your own way. You take the good advice and the experiences that others share with you, combine them with your own experiences and lessons, and make them your own.

When I look at you I see the best friend anyone could ever ask for because you know when to be honest, and when to keep your mouth shut, because you are loving and caring and giving.

When I look at you I see that sometimes you take yourself too seriously. Sometimes you use arrogance to hide your insecurity. But, in the end you know what's important.

When I look at you I see that sometimes you don't know who you are, but you know who you want to be. You have goals, and even though those goals are ever-changing and sometimes that path is muddy and dark, you know that even when you can't see it, there is a light somewhere, and you know that light is in you.

When I look at you I see that you draw on the light within others, but in the end, the decisions are yours, and you make them, and you deal with the consequences and you do it with grace and poise.

When I look at you I see that you know this is only one definition of you, my definition, and I know you know it's far from complete. I also know that it's something you needed to hear. At least, I hope so.
I love you.
amanda

wunderwuman at

previous | next