08.20.01

There's magic in the setting sun

Friday night I went out for supper with my parents at a place in Pictou. We were driving home and saw three kids playing along the side of the road with flashlights and walkie-talkies. It was dusk, the time of day when the sky is inbetween colours. When the trees and grass seem to glow. Dad said something about the magic of summer nights and i said that those children could be anything.

They were in a different world than us, completely oblivious to so many thoughts with which our heads have become clouded. Unaware of anything besides ther game that they were playing. And as we drove around the corner, I wished I was there again. When the biggest dissapointment was when your mother called you into the house for your bath, when your game was over. Before I really knew what heartache and pain were.

There is something magic about summer nights. The magic that those children were feeling was the same magic Liam Dad and I felt last night as we played chess at dusk on my parents balcony. It wasn't walkie-talkies, and there were no bad guy, but we laughed and talked about strategies, and we got to know each other through something more than words. Somehow, in the light if the setting sun, we played pretend while trying to hold on to the last long days of summer. It's nights like that I don't ever want summer to be over.

wunderwuman at

previous | next