08.14.01

This could be it

I just wrote a letter to my MP. Peter MacKay. Well, I don't know if he would be technically considered my MP since I go to school in Halifax. But i guess my permenant residence is here, so yeah, he's my MP.

Maybe I'm a nerd that I like politics, but I just find it realy interesting. I'm taking three English classes this year, and only on PoliSci, and that's the one I'm most excited for. Anyway, here's some KaitlynPromotion:

Dear Mr. MacKay,
My name is Kaitlyn Sobey and I am a resident of Stellarton. Earlier this year, I wrote an e-mail to Jacques Leger supporting the possibility of your becoming leader of the Progressive Conservative party. Since then, you have become a prominent figure in the media, both due to the support for you as party leader, and your involvement in the possibility of the PC and Canadian Alliance merging.
The possibility of the two parties merging is the reason I write this letter. When I heard that this was being considered I was intrigued, though not surprised. I understand why there is the desire for the merger, to combine forces against the Liberals. Unfortunately for both parties, their support base has dropped, and I can only imagine that of the Liberals' has increased.
Is this really the best solution? Not only would Canada lose one of its original political parties, but it seems to me that the combination would result in a more American-style government: less selection for the voter.
Though unsure of the benefits of a merger, I do not fully oppose it and realize that it is good to remain open to the possibility of change. However, I am interested in your opinion. I would appreciate any information you could provide.
Thank you very much,
Kaitlyn Sobey

Yey yey, I'm politically aware.

wunderwuman at

previous | next