07.23.1

Sunburns, smiles and rugby

This weekend was great. Exactly what I needed in order to feel like my life was in my hands, was what I wanted it to be. In order to snap me out of the pool of uncaring. I drove up Friday, went for a stroll around the city with Eva once she got off work, stopped at Gatsby's for a drink and some pizza, went home and went to bed.

Saturday we followed Gretchen, Amanda and Kim out to the field in Spryfield and played some games for SMU and other teams that needed players. We sat in the sun, danced to the music that the stereo was playing, laughed and got sunburnt. We decided that our whole team should wear sarongs out Saturday night (which was the cause of many "what is sawrong with you???" jokes).

I played a game with the under 21 team cause they needed another player, and once I got off the field and took off my jersey someone came up behind me and said "hey kaitlyn" I turned around and it was Tony, blue eyes still very blue, belly a little bigger that before, but still as cute. I blushed and said hello. We chatted for a few minutes, he's tree planting in BC for the summer but had three weeks off so he came home for two of them. Later Gretchen and I were talking about strong chemistry when you meet someone, how it feels like a pull towards them. That's how I feel with him. Plus I think he's totally cute and funny and *sigh* athletic. What a huge crush.

So that night we went to the Saint Mary's Boat Club and then to The Seahorse, where I saw Tony again. He came up to me, put his cold pitcher of beer inbetween my shoulder blades, and we chatted for a while. He said he had played for Pictou County that day, and I told him that's where I'm from. He asked if I knew some guy, who I didn't and our conversation sort-of faltered. We went our seperate ways but Eva told me she saw him looking at me a lot during the night. Ahh. What a cute boy.

So Sunday we went back out to the field (without Eva this time cause she had to work) and won the final game :) we all got Keith's beer mugs for our victory. We stayed and watched the boys finals, and finally got back into the city around four thirty. I wanted to go out for supper with the team, but I had to get home. So once I did, I went down to the ball field and watched the last three innings of Liam's game, went home and got into a bubble bath to sooth my aching aching muscles and sat down with my calendar trying to pick my courses. I was exhausted, which resulted in me getting upset and crying. Mom told me to go to bed. So I went upstairs and she rubbed my back for a while and I fell asleep until this morning. All in all a very very good weekend. Completely worth the sore muscles I have.

Tonight I have to pick two more courses and then mail everything away. To continue my life as a Saint Mary's student again this fall. k.

wunderwuman at

previous | next