2.16.09

Interview from Linds

Hmmm, can't resist, here is the "interview" from Linds.

1. You mention going back to school and wanting to get a degree. What would you like to take? What would be your ideal career?
I have no idea. Well, I've always been interested in HR, and that's what this next degree will be. But quite honestly, I've never had a job that truly challenged me or made me feel that I was contributing in some (any?) way. My work experience is scattered at best. I want to work for the comapny my family owns, and I want to help make the company better and the employees feel taken care of. I want to help people, I just don't know in what way yet.

2. Would you want to have one more baby to try for a boy?
Ahhhhh, this is a hot question lately. I'm about 90% sure that I don't want more children. I know that in the forseeable future, I will be able to balance school or work and children. And I know that I want to go back to work, maybe never full time, but I want a career. Aside from the sheer cost of raising more than two kids (which, hellooooo childcare and then sports etc etc etc), I don't know if I'd be able to balance the type of life I want for myself (time to run, time to work, eventually long weekends away with just Steve and I) with the type of mother I want to be. So in short, no I don't think we'll have any more (planned) children. Talk to me in five years, though, and we'll see what life has brought about.

3. What made you get into running and love it so much?
I've always been fairly active, but my love for running has really blossomed since Alena's been born. Obviously, I started running again with the sole goal of losing weight. The benefits far outnumber just losing weight. Running makes me feel strong and at peace with myself. The time alone with my heart pumping and face sweaty leaves me feeling more centered. I think that I am a better mother to the girls for taking some time out for myself each week.

4. What do you think the best part of being a mom is?
Most definately, it's the love I feel for my children. It's more profound than anything I have ever felt. My body aches sometimes with the sheer force of it.

5. What is your favourite memory of you and Steve?
Wow. This is a hard one. We've been through a lot together, but the best might be our Honeymoon. Things had been stressful planning the wedding, and Leila was only 11 months old. I was so worried about leaving her for five days, but also running on being very burned out from the past year. We went to Vegas and then to the Grand Canyon, and it was the most relaxing, nap filled, sexy-afternoon, peaceful vacation I've ever had.

Things are the same, although our house might sell tonight, which is good. I'm tired, mostly, and am looknig to getting this house off our hands and with it, paying off our debt. I'm a little anxious about Steve's new job, and wondering if I've bitten off more than I can chew with my online course. The days weave in and out, though, and there's much beauty to be had :)

wunderwuman at 1:28 p.m.

previous | next