05.09.07

Periods! And I am not talking about punctuation

I think I forgot to mention that I am still waiting for my first post-partum period. I know.
Leila and I had a doctors appointment today to meet our new physician, and while I have a (perhaps unwarranted)general distrust for most doctors, I am a little worried and wanted to talk to somebody about this. Also, I need a refill for my pills.
So that you know I am not an idiot, I did talk to my doctor in Kingston about this. She seemed like a wait-and-see kind of woman, and told me it was nothing to worry about. Anyway, this doctor seemed a little more concerned, and practically ordered me to come off the pill and if I still had not gotten my period within a month he was going to give me some progesterone which would induce one. He said ultimately it was up to me, and that if I chose to just keep taking the pill without any period, I could do so, but that he felt like I should try to get to the bottom of the problem. Also, it hurts to have sex. Like, hurts. First the problem was just lubrication, but that is starting to sort itself out. But, inside. He seemed to think it was all related.
So the thought of inducing a period seems a little scary to me and Steve is convinced that this month will be the month (and seriously, it probably will since I am scheduled for a big ole period on our honeymoon), but at the same time, deep down I am a little scared that something is actually wrong. He offered a pap test today but I declined because of the squirmy kid in my lap, my full to the brim bladder, and the fact that I am not due until July and heard once that more than one a year puts you at risk for some sort of cervical damage. Besides, I just met the man and did not really want him prodding into my vagina on our first date, so to speak.
Hah. Bet you thought this was going to be about more wedding stuff.
So any advice is welcome, because I have been googling like mad but have failed to really come up with any relevant info. Cysts are a possibility, as I have had one before that ruptured on its own without any cause for concern.
But I have some postings to do for my course and some finalizing to do for our seating arrangements and, all in all, I am pooped again tonight.

wunderwuman at 6:59 p.m.

previous | next