02.10.06

WinRho and a Meme

So the appointment was great, I measured correctly, my blood pressure was fine, I asked my million questions (which all seem to gravitating towards labour but not the actual care of a newborn), and Steve made the midwife laugh by wearing her pelvis mold on his head like a hat.

Also, turns out since my blood type is negative I have to get this shot. There is a chance that the baby has a positive blood type and if her blood leaks into mine, my blood will create antigens to fight and destroy her positive blood cells. I have to go get tested in two weeks to make sure there are no antigens in my blood already and then get my shot at 28 weeks (my next appointment). And apparently, that is the story of pregnancy always for me and any other women with negative blood type. Crazy, eh? I told my mom and she said oh of course and she had not thought about it and had forgotten I was negative.

Side note, the shot I am getting is called WinRho, named after Winnipeg which is where the technology for this whole process was discovered.

If I were not to get this shot, this pregnancy would probably be without major event, but any other pregnancy I had would only last if the baby also had a negative blood type. Which goes to explain why so many women used to have multiple miscarriages back in the days of. . . yore?

On a completely different note, I have been eyeing this meme for a while and have now been tagged so here goes.

Four jobs you have had in your life, in chronological order

  • Babysitter
  • cashier
  • Administrative assistant
  • Data Integrity Clerk
    Four movies you could watch over and over
  • The Lion King
  • The Incredibles
  • Carlitos Way
  • The Whole Nine Yards

    Four places you have lived

  • Stellarton, Nova Scotia
  • Nice, France
  • Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • Kingston, Ontario

    Four TV shows you love to watch

  • Law and Order SVU
  • CSI
  • American Idol (oh! the shame!)
  • A Baby Story

    Four places you have been on vacation

  • Italy
  • Scotland
  • Mexico
  • Dominican Republic

    Four websites you visit daily

  • Diaryland
  • Elusive Balance
  • Perez Hilton
  • CTV News

    Four of your favourite foods

  • KD
  • Pizza
  • Bananas
  • Yogurt

    Four places you would rather be right now

  • Hmm. Despite my vent a couple entries ago, there is nowhere else I would rather be. It is a cold Friday, Steve is on vacation today, we already went to the park and all three of us are home. So I am skipping this one.

    Four bloggers you are tagging

  • I think almost everyone has done this already, so if you have not, feel free to be tagged.

    wunderwuman at 12:06 p.m.

    previous | next